Favourite thing: Ochre horn chandelier

Ochre makes amazing lighting, often made from unusual materials, and I especially like this Eclipse chandelier, which harnesses the naturally translucent property of horn by using loads of little tags of it for the individual drops. The effect is subtly glamorous: horn is a great, tactile material – I always find myself lovingly fondling little spoons or other trinkets made of them, before realising that I don’t really need a spoon or trinket – and this is an inspired use for it. I’d like the high street to do a version of this pendant, but it would probably be made of plastic and look rubbish. So I’ll continue to think hard about owning this one instead and it might just come to pass.

Picture 1

 

Leave a Reply

