Cockpit Arts + Amber Heptinstall

I went to Cockpit Arts’ Christmas open studios over the weekend and was pleased to find out that some of my favourite designers (including Lush Designs and Thornback & Peel) come up with their stuff just down the road from me in Deptford. I had no idea. There were loads of things I hadn’t seen before, too, including the work of upholsterer Amber Heptinstall who takes traditional furniture and gives it a new lease of life with sensual and glamorous textiles. She had on display a buttoned bed head in black velvet, studded with Smartie-like multicoloured buttons, which made me want to both touch it and eat it (I only did one of these things though. Guess which one).

Leave a Reply

